Maine Running Hall of Fame (MRHOF) Announces 2016 Inductees


For Immediate Release
Contact: Anne-Marie Davee
(cell: 207-841-1300),

Maine Running Hall of Fame (MRHOF) Announces 2016 Inductees

September 21, 2016 –The board of directors of the MRHOF named seven individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport of running in Maine to be inducted into the Maine Running Hall of Fame at its 19th induction ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 13, 2016, at the Governor’s Hill Mansion, Augusta, Maine.

  • Lawrence (Larry) Allen, Mt. Desert Island, began running clinics for the YMCA, Downeast Maine and led the efforts to establish Women’s indoor track club at the University of Maine at Orono in the late 1970’s.
  • Robert Ashby, Brunswick, has outstanding personal records at all distances from the mile (4:23) to the marathon (2:31:22).  He coaches youth running and organizes races in memory of his wife’s family.
  • Stephen (Steve) Podgajny, Brunswick, has contributed to Maine running for the past 35 years.  He has been an exemplary volunteer coach and meet director, founding the Maine Distance Festival in 1994.  He has served as a Bowdoin Track & Field Official since 1995 and continues to this day.
  • Phillip (Phil) Pierce, Falmouth, has made significant contributions as a fierce competitor and as a leader.  He has completed 30 Boston Marathons as well as numerous 50 milers, 50Ks, 100Ks and 100-mile trail races. Phil played leadership roles with the Maine Track Club, Maine Running Hall of Fame, The New England 65+ Runners Club and the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.
  • Gretchen Read, Portland, started running at age 50 with rankings in the USA Track & Field Association.  She has 108 Masters or age group wins, 5 second place finishes and 15 Beach to Beacon races.   
  • William (Bill) Reilly, Brownfield, as a competitive runner has personal records for race distances from the 5K (16:59) to the marathon (2:43:58).   He has coached running at Fryeburg Academy for 23 years. He started the Fryeburg Recreation Run and the Turkey Trot at Mollyocket Middle School.
  • Michael (Mike) Westphal, Cranberry Isles, ran at the University of Maine with a personal best for the mile (4.19).  He won the Paul Bunyan Marathon set a course record at the Tour du Lac Race.   He was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease 9 years ago, however continues to run to raise money for the Michael J. Fox Foundation.

Two Maine races will also be inducted into the MRHOF this year; Pat’s Pizza Clam Festival Classic Five Mile Race in Yarmouth and the Great Pumpkin 10K Race in Saco.  The Pat’s Pizza Clam Festival Race started in 1981, just celebrating its 35th year with the current Race Director, Ron Pelton.  The Great Pumpkin 10K Race began in 1978, always held around Halloween with much success and current Race Director is Bob LaNiagra.

The MRHOF induction ceremony and banquet is open to the public. Space is limited, so reservations are strongly recommended. The ceremony begins at noon with a social hour, followed by lunch and the induction ceremony. Tickets are $25 per person and can be purchased through EventBrite at the following link:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s